TCR DAY 10 – Hot days, long nights: when routine takes over.

TCRno6 Map Day 10

The city of Brno came to life in the morning sun. Market squares and shopping streets. I left Brno following a busy road where I met Matthieu Lifschitz again. We talked for a few minutes, then got funnily separated by our GPS tracks. He went right, I went left. The Slovakian border was not far now. I entered my 12th country and got scared by the heavy and dangerous traffic on national road number 2. Trucks passed me very closely and there was no shoulder to escape. After 5km of near misses, I decided to leave Slovakia and reroute through nearby Austria. But hunger brought me back to the main road that became safer as I approached Bratislava. The Slovakian capital looked like a pleasant place and reminded me of Liège. I met Andrea Polo who needed to stop for a meal.

Like every day lately, my daylight kms were insufficient because of the constant head winds and scorching heat. I started my daily routine: booked a hotel 80km away, and shifted into night mode. The Hungarian border was soon crossed and I discovered a tidy and well organised rural country. The first bike paths were excellent, until I crossed my first bike restriction sign. Luckily the alternative was easy to find. Against my likes, I followed the Danube to Györ in complete darkness. The nature smelled nice. After three hours of night riding I was happy to plunge into the light of Györ. Generously lit bridges and buildings welcomed me home. At Hotel Baross, I drank a beer with three German engineers traveling for work.

227km990 – 09h59 – 22,8km/h – 483m up

NEXT DAY >

IMG_4323IMG_4326IMG_4332IMG_4335IMG_4339IMG_4340IMG_4347IMG_4350

NEXT DAY >

#tcrno6 #tcrno6cap54 #transcontinental #ultracycling #wanderlust #roadslikethese #fromwhereiride #cycling #cyclinglife#cyclingshots #cyclingphotos #travel #nature #travelphoto#naturephotography #hungary #slovakia #bratislava #brno #magyarország #győr

2 réflexions sur “TCR DAY 10 – Hot days, long nights: when routine takes over.

Laisser un commentaire