TCR no 8 – Excitement (START > CP1)

« It looks as if you’re on holidays and enjoying » said mom after two days of racing.

And indeed, despite the colossal distances, I was still relatively fresh and keeping my body in balance. Posts about varied food dishes in a restaurant were not rare, and I sent short videos via Whatsapp as if I were on a school trip to the Antwerp Zoo.

TCRno8 - Night 1

The Transcontinental Race number 8 had started successfully in Geraardsbergen and I was following known roads through my home town Brussels, to Leuven, Tienen, Sint-Truiden (I was born 20km from here!), Tongeren and Maastricht. By the time we crossed the German border, the morning sun rose and I had an average of about 27km/h. The legs were still fine and I was surrounded by really good riders. I really felt that I could actually keep up with them if I just managed my sleep well.

TCRno8 - Day 1

Day one finished with 440km. It was 20h30 and there appeared a small hotel by the road. I took a portion of pasta and went straight to bed. The next morning I woke up to plan at 4h00 and got my first 100km in before 10h30. The wind gently pushed us via the rosary of cultural cities: Gotha, Erfurt, Weimar, Jena, Gera, Chemnitz. Even if some fatigue was crippling in the legs, I made good progress and always found ice cream or fruit juice to refuel them.

TCRno8 - Day 2

By the end of the second day, the Wahoo said 350km (so almost 800km in 48 hours). My absolute record! I was ahead of the riders that I considered my strongest competitors. Well done, Sebi! In the small town of Augustusburg I hit the window of a pension. The landlady did not expect guests, but gave me a room and a surrogate breakfast, including fresh baby apples from the garden!

TCRno8 - Day 3

The next morning, I woke up on schedule again and made my way to Control Point 1 in Krupka, CZ. There were a few climbs to get there and it started raining. But the motivation was strong and I reached the Control Point together with super fast cap number 3 Cara Dixon. This was my favourite CP: a mountain shelter with solid food and a wooden architecture. I just loved the oxtail soup and pasta. The company was made of participants who would mostly finish the race around me: Paul Alderson, Kim Heikkinen, Frank Scholler,  Gabriel Bercolano, Arthur Proust.

TCRno6 legend Jean-Yves Couet was collecting our signatures and encouraging us. It was great to see he had travelled from Vienna to cheer on us! Cara Dixon had already left. I thought it was strategically not clever to skip such a good opportunity to eat quality food, but then again perhaps I just needed a good excuse to rest a bit longer. My Brussels friend Zeno Bonduelle was near the CP struggling with a broken hub. I crossed fingers that he could repair it, and he did! (and eventually finished TCR days before me)

As I finished the very hilly parcour 1, I could not avoid thinking about my fellow participants who are not so keen climbers and who would probably end this mandatory section devastated. Especially the last useless climb, ending with a 25% street was tricky! I also felt really hungry (again) after finishing it, and it took me about one hour to set off from Litomerice… next stop: Italy!

#tcrno8 #tcrno8cap54 #transcontinental #race #ultracycling #cycling#cyclinglife #cyclingshots #roadcycling #roadslikethese #fromwhereiride

Laisser un commentaire