Connecting islands of population

The Ancient Greeks became good sailors because of the many islands surrounding the mainland. That’s what the school teacher taught us during a history class, back in 1992. Standing on Cape Sounion, they could already see the blue hills of Aegina and Kea. There was always a next island to sail to, another territory to discover. So they made it to Asia Minor and could improve their skills.

I like to use this example when I’m asked about the « why » part of my bicycle passion. The small town where I grew up is linked to the outer world with straight roads wearing the names of the places they lead to. (e.g. the « Luikersteenweg » will take you to Luik/Liège). Not national heroes, not random numbers, but places. As a kid, these road names made me curious.

It didn’t last very long before I went upstream to look where they all came from. So one day I yelled my parents goodbye, hopped on my bike, and pedaled to Maastricht following the Maastrichtersteenweg for hours. I was 11.

That’s how I discovered my first island.

 

Laisser un commentaire