TCR DAY 11 – The day head winds and heat made me desperate.

TCRno6 Map Day 11

This day started on the wrong foot. The road I needed to follow all day was forbidden for bicycles, so I rerouted and lost an aweful lot of time and energy going up and down. Every 10kms I had to eat some ice cream and drink litres of apple juice. I tried to find some fun along the way eating berries. But seeing my co-riders racing by like a little train on the main road made me feel helpless. I called wife and family for support. My mom gave me that typical mom’s advice:

« Why don’t you take a rest day? »  – Mom, it’s a RACE!!!

So I pedaled back to the main road to feel part of something again.

I booked a hotel 65km further, hoping that it would magically make the kms appear. Darkness fell on Southern Hungary. Thousands of mosquitoes attacked me as soon as I stopped. The nearest dot was the one of Douglas Migden. The perspective of finding some company made me pedal harder. I finally caught Doug, who was exhausted after a 300km day. Since I had a hotel booking, I suggested him to ask for availabilities there. He was lucky and took the room next to mine after trying to explain the owners the meaning of « You saved my ass ».

Then came the « Belgian milk man » episode. I found a full bottle of milk in the fridge and drank half of it before sleeping. Then I remembered not to be a dick and hit Doug’s door to share the milk. He opened, saw my bright smile, the milk bottle, and said « No thanks, I need to sleep » before closing again. This moment entered our both TCR memories and we both laughed about it in Meteora.

214km760 – 09h42 – 22,1km/h – 1065m up

NEXT DAY >

IMG_4361IMG_4363IMG_4367IMG_4369IMG_4376IMG_4377IMG_4383

NEXT DAY >

#tcrno6 #tcrno6cap54 #transcontinental #ultracycling #cycling#roadslikethese #fromwhereiride #wanderlust #hungary #magyarország#balaton #győr #szechenyi #ride #outsideisfree #nature #travel #bikestagram #igerscycling

Une réflexion sur “TCR DAY 11 – The day head winds and heat made me desperate.

Laisser un commentaire