TCR DAY 5 – The day I defeated the two-headed CP2 monster.

TCRno6 Map Day 5

I left Hotel Sonne with dry shoes thanks to a very helpful Dutch employee. The first 40 kms were flat and easy. I met Meg Pugh whom I confused with Ala MaKota. A short mountain pass took me to the next Slovenia-bound valley. The legs were tired, so I bought some local dairy products. While I was resting I saw Loïc Nys Taymans pedaling by. He looked remarkably fresh, and was calling home on his headset. We had a pleasant Brusseleer reunion a bit further, before he stopped to buy a new cassette for the mountains. I stopped by a magnificent water fountain and had a chat with Antonio Baños, Jakob Dieckman and I think Roger Chuchard/Thomas Chateau. Then we all climbed to Tarvisio and Slovenia. Before the huge climb up the Mangart, I needed calories. A big trout in a Tarvisio restaurant did the job.

Mangart was a tough cardio exercise on a 28, but the VIEWS from the 2070m top were worth it! The many tunnels and sheep gave the needed diversion. On the way down I spoke to Anna. The road to CP2 in Bovec was fast. I met a Finnish veteran and dotwatcher, and spoke to my Murcian neighbours the Cycling Bros (Daniel Nicolás Muñoz & Guillermo NM) for the first time. Without losing time I climbed up the second leg of the parcours, the much underestimated Vrsič pass (1600m). I was proud to reach the top without walking, having passed 3 other riders.

On the way down, I caught Loïc Nys Taymans and Jamie Saunders but they had the legs to ride into the night. I stopped in Kranjska Gora, a city with only ONE room left, lost 1 hour finding that room, and had a quick midnight kebab before sleeping.

203km540 – 10h53 – 18,7km – 3713m up

NEXT DAY >

IMG_3993IMG_4005IMG_4008IMG_4016IMG_4023IMG_4038IMG_4045IMG_4070IMG_4078IMG_4104IMG_4090IMG_4099

NEXT DAY >

#tcrno6 #tcrno6cap54 #ultracycling #insearchofup #cycling #mountains#mountain #mountainlovers #wanderlust #slovenia #austria #österreich#steiermark #carinthia #nature #dailygram #instadaily

Une réflexion sur “TCR DAY 5 – The day I defeated the two-headed CP2 monster.

Laisser un commentaire